A Story to Tell

I’ve busy lately, and trying not drown in the mid-semester burnout ocean. I know,  I’m not even taking classes. However, I have two little boys so that counts as 24 credit hours at least.  And I work with students and there’s a ton going on with campus life this month and next.

The campus years are such a special time for students. As I’ve mentioned before major life decisions happen in college. During this time, one of the biggest things that students need is validation, knowing that their contributions matter and more importantly that they matter.  Without constant support it’s easy for them to indulge in self-deprecating thoughts.  And who can blame them?  Every day we are all faced with, and fighting the feelings of being less than—not enough.  I enjoy reminding young adults that they are enough, that they matter, and that their contributions are valuable.

One of the ways that has helped students see their value, (or at least the ones I’ve worked with) is by creative writing. A literary agent twitted, “Everyone has a story to tell but not everyone has the innate ability to write it.” Well, I think everyone has a story to tell and has the ability to write it the right way.

With all my business, I was able to catch a movie, Saving Mr. Banks, with a friend.  It’s the story behind the well-loved Disney classic, Mary Poppins. It’s an incredible, must see movie, for sure. Personally, I was surprised that each character in Mary Poppins represented someone in the authors’ family or something from her past. And let me say, these connections were very deep and at times sad, but beautiful. It confirmed the power of stories and how our lives and experiences tend to shape a story.  At one point in the film, Walt Disney says, “We all have our sad story. Imagine the past–how it should have been, and write it.” (not the exact quote, hopefully I didn’t butcher it too much) Because of this, I’m convinced that we all need to write more! Even the I’m-too-overwhelmed-by-classes college student should write. There’s nothing like writing what’s in our heart and seeing the proof that we are valuable as the words spill out. Because our experiences, thoughts, feelings, and beliefs matter.

storyr_meu0x3o9pA1rupirro1_500

photo credit : http://allthecoloursofmylife.tumblr.com/

7 thoughts on “A Story to Tell

  1. You’re clearly doing such a great, valuable job with your students Chloe. I’m sure they appreciate you for it. And you’re right, we all need to realise that we’re valuable and needed. At the moment I’m job hunting and trying to get to grips with my lack of confidence in my own abilities – particularly work-related. I just don’t trust myself enough, I’m always getting my husband to help me make decisions and I really feel like I need a confidence boost.

    I’ve been looking online for confidence courses in my area but I can’t seem to find any that don’t cost the earth! But I guess as much as anything, confidence is something that comes with time. Great post as always!

    • Aww, thanks so much Elaine. I try to help my students with confidence because it actually forces me to be confident. I guess we all struggle with insecurities. Overtime they change and we grow which is great, but the journey is still hard.

      I can totally relate to running things by the hubby because I’m the queen of indecision. He, on the other hand, is probably overly confident and unapologetic. However, he’s very kind. At times I wish I had his confidence. Then I remembered that we really balance each other out. I tend to analyze everything before doing anything. I help him and he helps me and together we make the best decision.

      Also, I’m confident you’ll find a great job. Just be your awesome self and you can’t go wrong. 🙂

Leave a Reply

