Intruder-WIPpet

March came with another snow storm. I’d like to think being stuck inside would lend itself to me getting more writing done, but I have children. So, I typically spend those snowy days trying to keep my little boys from breaking things. They’re use to being in daycare–I’m use to them being in daycare. However, I do love the special, unexpected time with my high-energy boys. Just yesterday we watched Pinocchio–Disney never gets old, and they loved it!

I’ve designated this month to editing the sequel to The Hall Speaks. I’m so looking forward to spending time with my characters (my number one fans). There’s a runner’s high but there’s also a writer’s high. I get into a zone, the endorphins are flowing, and nothing can distract me from their story. After writing, I actually feel more energized, confident and genuinely happy.  My posts may get sporadic as I rewrite and edit, just saying. 🙂

On a side note, I’m loving social media. I’ve been able to meet some of the nicest, most interesting people ever. Recently I ran across a post on Tumblr for Res-Life: The Musical. It’s nice finding others interested in promoting Residence Life.  They’ve raised close to 4,000 for this short film which they’ll be working on for the next few months. I’ll be sure to keep you posted on their progress.

Now onto my WIPpet! As some of you know, RA Sage gets caught in a horrible situation. Things get personal as he deals with the repercussions of  doing his job. I don’t want to give away too much of the plot, so it’s just a small section. Sage isn’t the kind of guy to shrink back, so he takes protecting himself to a whole different level.

March 5, 2014, so I came up with 14 multiplied by 3=page 42 and 5+3=8 sentences or so.  Enjoy!

Intruder

#Sage

Sage grabbed his book bag off the floor, unzipped it frantically, searching for his gun. His finger tips grazed the cold, hard plastic; carefully he gripped it in both hands, marveling at the black semi-automatic. He stood up, feeling the air move quicker through his lungs. In a fury he swung around, holding the gun out like he was about to shoot a target at close range. He felt as if the gun was just an extension of his body, as he turned to face his mirror. He blinked the wetness from his eyes as reality sunk deep into his stomach. They’d been in his house, unnoticed.

*******

Always, thanks for reading! If you’d like to take part in WIPpet just go here.  Be sure to check out other WIPpets, I’ll be doing my rounds tomorrow. And thank you K. L. Schwengel for hosting! Happy reading and let’s all keep writing!

Here’s a photo from an incredibly successful passive RA program with a great message.

RA program Mirrorless Monday.

RA program Mirrorless Monday.

I’m off to campus for the night. 🙂

Photo Credit: http://whatwecallreslife.tumblr.com

19 thoughts on “Intruder-WIPpet

  1. What’s an RA? Resident adviser? I’ve been out of college so long, I don’t have the vocabulary — if I ever did. 🙂 (Who knows what they called it my day and age …)

    Definite sense of danger in that snippet. Nice!

  2. Great excerpt Chloe. It’s ominous and unsettling. Why has Sage got a gun and who is he afraid of? I like how you describe the gun as being an extension of himself. Can’t wait to read it when you’re done! 🙂

  3. Oooh, you really plopped us into a high impact moment with Sage! I’m curious about what caused him to react so frantically …

    Can’t imagine having small kids again. They’re awesome but they sure keep you hopping. One time a childless friend said to me another another woman: “Kids keep you young.” We both replied at once, “No, they make you old!” LOL. But of course we’d never change it for the world. 🙂

    • He’s stuck in this horrible game and doesn’t know who’s behind it. There was a situation that happened on campus once and I just continued asking “what if” and then Sage got involved. Then it became his story. 🙂 Always, thanks for reading!

  4. Yes, lots of tension brewing here. I love the last line. I hate resorting to guns, though. But, it is a commentary on the times, I suppose. He seems very comfortable with it, in any regard.

  5. Pingback: Liebester Blog Award | regimcclain

Leave a Reply

